Homosexuality – T Cell- HIV- AHH!

I wrote a factually based historical article on homosexuality a few weeks back. It was, needless-to—say, the abridged version.

Yet, I would like to take a step forward, and tell you why I wrote that article. Yes, it is intriguing but it has a personal interest to me. I am a homosexual. To reiterate a frequently quoted statistic, “10% of population is gay.” Not true. It is much less but that does not change the fact that people are born differently.

Different is hard to get use to. In fact, I grew up in Christian School and switched because they would have my head on a silver platter if they knew I was gay. The older generation looks upon it with hesitance and I understand why- I really do. Nevertheless, homosexuality is not a disease, not a sin, and a person who says otherwise is either a Saint or a coward. However, I am not here to talk about myself, but rather an old friend who has HIV.

“Keep it hushed, I don’t want people to know I have HIV.” I looked at him blankly and then my eyes pivoted towards the ground.

“If it makes you feel any better,” I began, “I feel for you and people are ignorant. I know the facts behind it.”

“When I was diagnosed,” he began, a cigarette poised in his hand, “I was told I had little time to live. Then they came out with all these new drugs. HIV is not a death sentence like it was but people have not evolved to this truth. They think that spit, touch, breath, can spread HIV.”

I leaned towards him and plucked the cigarette out of his mouth and took a long drag of it. “Do not include me in the people that have not evolved.” I said in a matter-of-fact tone. I exhaled and looked at him with interest. “People are ignorant but there are some of us- maybe not many- but there are some of us- who will not judge you or love you by anything other than who you are.”

HIV is not a death sentence anymore. Chances are strongly in your favor of dying from something grossly far more excruciating than HIV. Lucky you. AIDS is at the end but those that die from AIDS are very few in numbers. HIV revolves around something known as Your T Cell count. The medications keep your T Cell count at a high enough level that the virus can be undetectable. It is when this number begins to decline that worry ignites. However, I was reading a press release recently of another new HIV medication that is suppose to have fewer side effects and be even more effective. There is even a drug available that prevents HIV from being transmitted from an HIV positive person but you have to take this pharmaceutical every day and it is used mostly by nurses. Point- Wise up!

p.s. This is not an excuse to be sexually promiscuous

One Comment Add yours

  1. M.T.B. says:

    Reblogged this on http://www.Addicted2Life.com and commented:

    Interesting Facts about HIV

    Like

Leave a Reply

