Welcome to Gallows Humor 101

What is Gallows humor? Well, it is used to deal with situations that are stressful or mind fragmenting. According to Wylie Sypher, Gallows humor means, ”to be able to laugh at evil and error means we have surmounted them.”

In my last blog I start off with what I can now see people taking as very dark, but the truth is somewhere in the middle. Yes, it is dark, but I have seen so many dark things that I have two choices. I can humor myself in the irony and revel in the past or I can cry. Well, I am out of tears, so I guess I have no choice but to laugh. (Gallows humor)

The definition of Gallows humor according to the flawlessly knowledgeable internet, “humor that makes fun of a life-threatening, disastrous, or terrifying situation.”  A lot of people use this type of humor to diffuse awkward situations.

People in the line of work that see disasters often use this as escape mechanism from the brutality they have witnessed. For example, a detective who has seen a lot of dead bodies might remark, “If we put the body in the trash-can, can the garbage man dispose of it in the morning?” Does he really means what he says? It is a way of coping.

Gallows humor has recognized for a very long time. In fact, Sigmund Freud even takes a stab at exactly why people mask their emotions with seemingly morbid jokes. The truth: for me: Life is taken way to seriously and I cannot continually be pulled down, and thus, laughter is my medicine.

A spoon of sugar makes the medicine go down (Who really knows what was a spoon full of)

I am looking more positively at things than ever before, but my sense of humor is here to stay. It is my way of coping. It is my way of dealing with disaster- even if the disaster is in the past- some things cannot be forgotten.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lisa Wolf says:

    Love the irony

    Like

Leave a Reply

